New Music: Lightning Bolt’s “The Metal East”

lightning bolt - fantasy empire - album cover

After six years of silence, the noise rockers known as Lightning Bolt have a new full-length, Fantasy Empire, set for release on March 24th. While that date slowly creeps up, you can get a fix with the newly released track, “The Metal East.”

Pre-orders can be made here.

On the technical side of recording Fantasy Empire, more than any previous record, Chippendale and Gibson make use of live loops and complete separation of the instruments during recording to maximize the sonic pandemonium and power. Gibson worked with Machines very carefully to get a clear yet still distorted and intense bass sound, allowing listeners to truly absorb the detail and dynamic range he displays, from the heaviest thud to the subtle melodic embellishments. Some of these songs have been in the band’s live repertoire since as early as 2010, and have been refined in front of audiences for maximum impact. This is heavy, turbulent music, but it is executed with the precision of musicians that have spent years learning how to create impactful noise through the use of dynamics, melody, and rhythm.

Fantasy Empire Track Listing:

1. The Metal East
2. Over the River and Through the Woods
3. Horsepower
4. King of My World
5. Mythmaster
6. Runaway Train
7. Leave the Lantern Lit
8. Dream Genie
9. Snow White (& The 7 Dwarves Fans)

Rock Hard \m/

More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment