World MMA Awards 2017 Results

World MMA Awards 2017 Results

The World MMA Awards took place last night in Las Vegas and we now have the full list of results from the annual event, courtesy of

Besides just awarding fighters, the World MMA Awards also serves as a way for MMA fans to look back and celebrate the most memorable moments over the course of the entire year. 2016 was a obviously one of the biggest years ever in MMA, so it’s kind of hard to sum everything up in one post, but I think the honours below is enough to get the overall epicness of the year.

Without further ado, here the official winners for each category.

Charles ‘Mask’ Lewis Fighter of the Year

Michael Bisping
Donald Cerrone
Cody Garbrandt
Conor McGregor – WINNER
Stipe Miocic

Female Fighter of the Year

Cris Cyborg
Angela Hill
Joanna Jedrzejczyk
Angela Lee
Amanda Nunes – WINNER

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Yair Rodriguez
Cody Garbrandt – WINNER
Doo Ho Choi
Derrick Lewis
Michael Page

International Fighter of the Year

Michael Bisping
Joanna Jedrzejczyk
Conor McGregor
Gegard Mousasi
Khabib Nurmagomedov – WINNER

Fight of the Year

Robbie Lawler vs. Carlos Condit (UFC 195)
Cub Swanson vs. Doo Ho Choi (UFC 206) – WINNER
Michael Bisping vs. Anderson Silva (UFN 84)
Conor McGregor vs. Nate Diaz 2 (UFC 202)
Michael Chandler vs. Benson Henderson (Bellator 165)

Knockout of the Year

Anthony Johnson (vs. Glover Teixeira, UFC 202)
Landon Vannata (vs. John Makdessi, UFC 206)
Michael Page (vs. Cyborg Santos, Bellator 158) – WINNER
Yair Rodriguez (vs. Andre Fili, UFC 197)
Michael Chandler (vs. Pitbull Freire, Bellator 157)

Submission of the Year

Ben Rothwell (vs. Josh Barnett,UFC on FOX 18)
Nate Diaz (vs. Conor McGregor, UFC 196 — WINNER
Miesha Tate (vs. Holly Holm, UFC 196)
MacKenzie Dern (vs. Montana Stewart, Legacy 61)
Thiago Moises (vs. David Catillo, RFA 35)

Comeback of the Year

Michael Bisping (vs. Anderson Silva, UFN 84)
Nate Diaz (vs. Conor McGregor, UFC 196)
Dan Henderson (vs. Hector Lombard, UFC 199
Miesha Tate (vs. Holly Holm, UFC 196) – WINNER
Dominick Cruz (Career)

Upset of the Year

Michael Bisping (vs. Luke Rockhold, UFC 199) – WINNNER
Bryan Barberna (vs. Warlley Alves, UFC on FOX 18)
Joe Taimanglo (vs. Darrion Caldwell, Bellator 159)
Brandon Moreno (vs. Louis Smolka, UFN 96)
Zac Riley (vs. Hugo Viana, RFA 34)

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year

Jason Parillo
Din Thomas
John Kavanagh – WINNER
Marcus Marinelli
Greg Jackson

Trainer of the Year

Jake Bonacci (S&C coach)
Mike Dolce (Nutrionist) — WINNER
Lawrence Herrera (S&C coach)
Loren Landow (S&C coach)
George Lockhart (Nutrionist)

Gym of the Year

American Top Team – WINNER
SBG Ireland
Jackson-Wink Arena
American Kickboxing Academy
Team Alpha Male

Referee of the Year

Marc Goddard
Herb Dean
John McCarthy – WINNER
Yves Lavigne
Leon Roberts

Ringcard Girl of the Year

Arianny Celeste
Brittney Palmer
Mercedes Terrell
Carly Baker
Jhenny Andrade – WINNER

Leading Man

Dana White – WINNER
Scott Coker
Victor Cui
Marc Ratner
Jeff Novitzky

Best Promotion

Bellator MMA
One Championship

Personality of the Year

Joe Rogan
Jimmy Smith
Jon Anik
Matt Serra
Brendan Schaub

Analyst of the Year

Brian Stann
Dan Hardy
Robin Black
Chael Sonnen
Dominick Cruz – WINNER

Best MMA Programming

UFC Embedded
Ultimate Fighter – WINNER
Lookin’ for a Fight
The MMA Hour
UFC Breakdown

MMA Media Source of the Year

MMA Junkie
MMA Fighting — WINNER
Bloody Elbow

MMA Journalist of the Year

Ariel Helwani – WINNER
Shaun Al-Shatti
Brett Okamoto
Ben Fowlkes
Karim Zidan

MMA Clothing and Equipment Brand of the Year

Bad Boy
Venum – WINNER

More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment