Beneath Stand Ready With “The Barren Throne”

Beneath - The Barren Throne

Beneath - The Barren Throne

Iceland’s Tech Death outfit, Beneath, is getting to release their second full-length album, The Barren Throne, on April 29th. Despite a wicked, almost Iron Maiden-esque album cover and promises that the album is every bit as brutal as it should be, the band has to be nervous about introducing a new singer. Last year, singer and founder Gisli Sigmundsson left the band and was replaced by Benedikt Natanael Bjarnason (Azoic). Or, Beneath could be rolling with it because there have been so many bands through the years that have lost their original singer and went on to greater things with the replacement.

Here’s some of what the Press Release has promised:
With an unrelenting 53 minutes of technical death metal cruelty through 11 new tracks, on The Barren Throne Beneath has sought to envelope melody, atmosphere, and structure within its manic blastbeats and speed-picked guitars. The album evolves lyrically and conceptually around the idea of a being or entity that consumes and devours everything around it until it’s forced to consume itself. The follow-up to their Unique Leader-released 2012 debut full-length, Enslaved By Fear, the dynamic The Barren Throne is Beneath’s first release with new vocalist, Benedikt Natanael Bjarnason, who joined the lineup in June 2013. The album’s massive production was achieved by the Wieslawski brothers of famed Hertz Studios in Poland (Behemoth, Dead Infection, Vader, Decapitated), and the album artwork once again sanctioned to the masterful Raymond Swanland. The end result is a complex and procedural, yet dynamic album that rewards repeated listening. The Barren Throne will be released worldwide on April 29th.

Said guitarist Johann Ingi:

We are truly thrilled to be releasing our second full-length on Unique Leader Records. During the writing and recording of The Barren Throne, every single member of the band has surpassed themselves, taking the album to another level. The album is tighter, more focused and doesn´t give an inch when it comes to sheer brutality. We are inspired by many different genres of extreme music and on this record we sought to embrace this and transcend the need to adhere to the common boundaries of the technical death metal genre. This has resulted in what we feel is our most dynamic and relevant release yet.

The Barren Throne Track Listing:

1. Depleted Kingdom
2. Chalice
3. The Barren Throne
4. Putrid Seed of Affection
5. Iron Jaw
6. Sovereign Carnal Passion
7. Sky Burial
8. Veil of Mercy
9. Mass Extinction Codex
10. Storm Drainer
11. Unearthed

Rock Hard \m/

More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment