If You’re Not Ready To Be Temporarily Addicted To One Song, Don’t Listen To Charred Walls Of The Damned’s “Zerospan”

The last album from Charred Walls of the Damned kicked ass, as you know from our review. We were utterly impressed, especially since this is a supergroup of sorts — and you don’t have to look much further than The Damned Things to see how badly that endeavor can fail.

Charred Walls Of The Damned - Cold Winds on Timeless Days

Charred Walls Of The Damned - Cold Winds on Timeless Days

Judging from the first release, “Zerospan,” the upcoming album, Cold Winds on Timeless Days, sounds like it’s going to be one ear-splitting, mind-blowing, awe-inspiring work of pure fucking metal. Full of all the shit that was loved on the self-titled debut (power metal/NWOBHM vocals, blast beats combined with intricate fills, soaring guitar solos, great riffing, awesome melodies, etc.) “Zerospan” expands on those elements and proves to be even more refined. There are arpeggios, but they’re tamed and used sparingly because it’s evident that melody and strong song writing are what drives Charred Walls. And the falsetto wail coming from Tim “Ripper” Owens at about the three-quarter mark is something to be heard.

Charred Walls of the Damned “Zerospan” by Metal Blade Records

Enough of me; here are the details:

Charred Walls of the Damned release their new album, Cold Winds on Timeless Days on October 11, 2011.

After the critically acclaimed debut, Richard Christy, Tim “Ripper” Owns, Jason Suecof, and Steve DiGiorgio once again join forces to bring to life Christy’s latest body of work, Cold Winds on Timeless Days. The writing process for the new album actually began while the band was mixing their 2010 debut. Richard Christy used his experience on the first album to write songs that catered not only to each member’s playing style, but to Jason Suecof’s production style. The result: demos that turned out nearly identical to what ended up on the album.

With 12 songs clocking in at 58 minutes, fans are getting a lot more music this time around. Recording 12 songs in a short period is no easy feat, but one that was accomplished because of the stellar talents in the band. Christy elaborates further:

“I wanted to get a natural sound out of this album, I wanted everyone to be well rehearsed, not that I wanted the album to be rushed, but I wanted the spontaneous live feel and not over think anything too much.”

Richard Christy describes Cold Winds on Timeless Days as a “perfect storm of producing.” ­ Audiohammer’s Jason Suecof produced and Mark Lewis mixed, while mastering was handled by Alan Douches at West Westside.

Hopefully you listened to the new song above, and now you probably want the album. You can place pre-orders for Cold Winds on Timeless Days at Metal Blade Records. The album can also be pre-ordered on iTunes.

Cold Winds On Timeless Days track listing:

1. Timeless Days
2. Ashes Falling Upon Us
3. Zerospan
4. Cold Winds
5. Lead the Way
6. Forever Marching On
7. Guiding Me
8. The Beast Outside My Window
9. On Unclean Ground
10. Bloodworm
11. Admire the Heroes
12. Avoid the Light

More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment