Motörhead – The Birthday Party 1985 – Yell! Magazine’s Full Concert Series


Some bands are timeless, boundless, and eternal. Some bands never die – they’re immortal. So is the case with Motörhead. This stature has only been achieved by a few. Off the top of my head I can only name AC/DC, Aerosmith, Iron Maiden, and ZZ Top (maybe), and, of course, Motörhead. These bands have an ability to cross decades, maintaining their relevance while consistently putting out new material. These bands are unwavering in their vision. While they produce music that seems to have a formula, it somehow reaches our souls each time. They are consistent and we know what to expect. There are no surprises, just balls-out awesomeness.

Anytime I think of Motörhead, I instantly hear that joke, the one I heard in Airheads:

“Who would win in a fight, Lemmy or God?”
[Honking sound before person can answer]
“Trick question! Lemmy is God!!!”

I also think about Lemmy, and how it’s a wonder how he’s still alive.

Motörhead, led by Lemmy Kilmister, formed in 1975 and has released 20 studio albums, selling 15 million worldwide. This 1985 show, The Birthday Party, was filmed just 7 albums into their undying career. Filmed at the Hammersmith Odeon in London, England, on June 26, 1985, The Birthday Party celebrates Motörhead 10th anniversary. In addition to featuring then-past members of the band, Motorhead also invited Thin Lizzy bassist Phil Lynott and Wendy O. Williams (vocals on “No Class”) on stage.

Motörhead – The Birthday Party 1985 Personnel:

Lemmy – bass guitar, vocals
Phil Campbell – guitar
Würzel – guitar R.I.P
Pete Gill – drums
Fast Eddie Clarke – guitar
Brian Robertson – guitar
Larry Wallis – guitar
Philthy Animal Taylor – drums
Lucas Fox – drums
Phil Lynott – bass guitar (“Motörhead”) R.I.P.
Wendy O. Williams – vocals (“No Class”) R.I.P.

Track Listing:
0:15 – “Iron Fist”
3:04 – “Stay Clean”
5:37 – “The Hammer”
8:11 – “Metropolis”
11:18 – “Mean Machine”
14:45 – “Built for Speed (On the Road)”
19:56 – “Killed by Death”
25:19 – “Ace of Spades”
28:04 – “Steal Your Face”
32:14 – “Nothin’ up My Sleeve”
35:35 – “We Are The Road Crew”
38:35 – “Bite the Bullet”
40:04 – “The Chase is Better Than The Catch”
44:27 – “No Class”
46:54 – “Overkill”
51:31 – “Bomber”
55:30 – “Motorhead”

Yell! Magazine’s Concert Series brings you kick-ass live shows to get your party started right and to help you vent your Friday frustrations.

Rock Hard \m/

More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment