Judas Priest: Fuel For Life Tour – Texas (1986) – Yell! Magazine’s Full Concert Series

This is one of those heavy metal bands that needs no introduction. As classic as leather, as wicked as Charles Manson, as important as Black Sabbath, and as essential as Iron Maiden, Judas Priest was the perfect metal band for warm-beer parking lot parties on hot summer nights. Danceable enough to make girls wanna grind their hips, heavy enough to satisfy thrashers, and talented enough to inspire the next air-guitar superhero, Priest is among the greatest of metal bands. When millions of fans chant “Priest, Priest, Priest!” when you take the stage, you know that you’re the unholiest of the unholy.

The concert video above was filmed on the 1986 Fuel for Life tour, in support of Turbo, in Dallas, Texas, at the Reunion Arena on June 27th. The recording was released as Priest… Live! on June 21, 1987.

Whenever I hear Judas Priest from this era, I can’t help but think of ’80s horror. For me, their sound epitomizes what every filmmaker thought a metalhead listened to.

Originally formed in 1969, Judas Priest is responsible for the studded-leather look that dominates heavy metal to this day. They are (i.e., K. K. Downing and Glenn Tipton) also partially responsible for the twin guitar sound that harmonizes some of the greatest heavy metal. As with most other heavy metal bands of their era, Priest has also been accused for encouraging kids to commit suicide and forcing oral sex at gun point.

At the time, the Judas Priest lineup included: Rob Halford – vocals, K. K. Downing – guitar, Glenn Tipton – guitar, Ian Hill – bass guitar, and Dave Holland – drums.

Fuel for Life Set List:

1. Out in the Cold
2. Locked In
3. Heading Out to the Highway
4. Metal Gods
5. Breaking the Law
6. Love Bites
7. Some Heads Are Gonna Roll
8. The Sentinel
9. Private Property
10. Desert Plains
11. Rock You All Around the World
The Hellion
12. Electric Eye
13. Turbo Lover
14. Parental Guidance
15. Freewheel Burning
16. Victim of Changes
17. The Green Manalishi (With the Two Pronged Crown) – (Fleetwood Mac cover)
18. Living After Midnight
19. You’ve Got Another Thing Comin’
20. Hell Bent for Leather

Yell! Magazine’s Concert Series brings you kick-ass live shows to get your party started right and to help you vent your Friday frustrations.

Rock Hard \m/

More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment