Witch Mountain Return With New Lineup, New Album, And New Single


Witch Mountain return from their three-plus-year hiatus with a refreshed lineup (new singer Kayla Dixon and bass player Justin Brown join band stalwarts Rob Wong and Nate Carson) and a new album, Witch Mountain (May 25th, Svart Records).

Listen to the new track, “Burn You Down,” here.

Witch Mountain pre-orders and the band’s North American tour dates will be announced soon.

Drummer/founding member Nathan Carson said of the band:

We’ve always been a patient band. Thanks to all of the touring Rob and I have done with Justin and Kayla over the last three years, we were able to make this album as a full-fledged, road-tested, family unit. Over 20 years, Witch Mountain has never peaked; each record and tour are better than the last. It was a tiny scene when we started, and even though it’s incredibly saturated now, our unique twist on Northwestern doom has continued to set us apart. I can’t wait to share the latest and greatest album with our fans.


The five-song release features the aforementioned new singer, Kayla Dixon, who had large shoes to fill when Uta Plotkin announced she was moving on following the release of Mobile of Angels. NPR said of Dixon’s abilities: “Kayla Dixon is a rarity in doom-metal, a singer with soul, dynamism, drama, control, and poise. There’s proficiency in her voice, but she knows that the blues — especially heavy-metal blues — rolls like thunder and wanders like a diva dancing around. She’s got a gift for righteously nailing the perfect note.”

Rock Hard \m/

More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment