Shumaun Should Excite Progressive Metal Fans


Do yourself a favor and check out the new progressive metal project, Shumaun, initialized by Farhad Hossain (ex vocalist/guitarist/keyboardist of the Sensory Records progressive metal outfit Iris Divine).

Today marks the reveal of the self-titled debut album’s first single, “Ambrosia,” artwork, and track listing (see below). Obviously, the cover art is very sci-fi with huge spiritual overtones. The track, “Ambrosia,” is highly emotional, but musically it’s masterful and should please any fan of progressive metal.

The album will be released on November 13th and can be pre-ordered here.


About Shumaun:

Shumaun started as a solo project by Farhad Hossain. After recording a few demos, he decided to recruit a few friends to help build the project into a full-fledged collaborative band.

Through the course of recording their debut album, Shumaun went through a period of tribulation while securing a drummer. Original drummer Tanvir Tomal (ex Iris Divine) had to leave for professional obligations in the middle of the recording sessions and was later replaced with Waqar Khan (Entity Paradigm), who is also well-known for his work with the platinum-selling Ali Azmat of the EMI recording artist Junoon (one of South Asia’s most successful rock bands). Waqar remained with the band long enough to record a few tracks on the debut record as well as appear live for some of the earlier shows. He later had to leave due to professional obligations that required relocation. Drumming legends Travis Orbin (Darkest Hour, Periphery) and Mark Zonder (Fates Warning, Warlord) recorded the remaining drums on the record.

The Shumaun sound is shaped by the soaring vocals and lead guitar work of Farhad Hossain, the pounding melodic bass lines of Jose Mora, the subtle guitar nuances of Tyler Kim, and the technical and groove-oriented drumming of Tanvir Tomal, who has recently returned to the group as they are currently rehearsing to get back into the live circuit to support the new record, which was tracked at Zinkferd Studio, mixed by Brett Caldas-Lima (Cynic, Devin Townsend Project, Pain of Salvation) at Tower Studio, and mastered by Brian J. Anthony.

Shumaun Track Listing:

1) A New Revolution
2) Miracles of Yesterday
3) You and I Will Change the World
4) Keep it Together
5) We Always Disappear
6) When It’s Our Turn
7) The Drop
8) Ambrosia
9) Floods
10) Sunrise at Midnight
11) The Dream of the Sleeper
12) Numbers

Rock Hard \m/

More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment