Earthside’s New Track, “Mob Mentality,” Sets A New Standard [VIDEO]

They’ve done it again! New Haven-based progressive metal band Earthside have upped the ante within their genre! Shit, they may have made things more challenging for everyone across every board with their latest release and its accompanying video, “Mob Mentality.” With Sevendust’s Lajon Witherspoon on vocals, this song soars high. The ambitious video, which looks like a Sunday Night Special, was directed by Patrick Kendall with a performance by the Moscow Studio Symphony Orchestra.

Guitarist Jamie van Dyck, who composed the orchestral arrangement, commented on the video:

Making this video was a fulfilling process because as such a transdisciplinary project, it crossed our paths with talented individuals across the arts. We worked with dancers, choreographers, directors, editors, colorists, professional orchestral musicians, a conductor, an orchestra contractor, a wardrobe/costume person, and, of course, a rock star vocalist. Involving all these people in our art reaffirmed the value of what we’re doing and sets the stage for the collaborative spirit we hope to continue to embody as we reach across the arts into the worlds of film, dance, video games, and other visual arts.

“Mob Mentality” can be found on Earthside’s upcoming album, A Dream in Static, which will be released on October 23rd. The album, the group’s conceptual mission statement, is a story of purposeful sacrifice and existential yearning told across sweeping instrumental movements, interwoven with adventurous vocal compositions featuring premier voices from across the rock and metal worlds.

A Dream in Static Track Listing:

I. The Closest I’ve Come
II. Mob Mentality
Featured Guest Vocalist: Lajon Witherspoon (Sevendust)
Featured Ensemble: The Moscow Studio Symphony Orchestra (MSSO)
III. A Dream In Static
Featured Guest Vocalist: Daniel Tompkins (TesseracT, ex-Skyharbor)
IV. Entering The Light
Featured Guest Performer: Max ZT — Hammered Dulcimer
Featured Ensemble: The Moscow Studio Symphony Orchestra (MSSO)
V. Skyline
VI. Crater
Featured Guest Vocalist: Björn Strid (Soilwork)
VII. The Ungrounding
VIII. Contemplation Of The Beautiful
Featured Guest Vocalist: Eric Zirlinger (Face the King, ex-Seer)

We’ll keep you posted with more news and pre-order info once it becomes available.

Rock Hard \m/

More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment