UFC 178: Johnson vs. Cariaso Fight Results And Bonuses

UFC Conor McGregor

Last night, I put on my lucky UFC hat hoping to get an exciting heart pumping UFC 178 event, which definitely delivered that and so much more from the start of the prelims to the headlining flyweight title bout.

In the main event, Demetrious Johnson won seven straight fights with his win against underdog Chris Cariaso. He lived up to his nickname “Mighty Mouse” with his methodical performance by outclassing his opponent with speed, precision, and elite technique. Johnson ended up defeating Cariaso with ease in the second round by kimura submission. Known as one of the most active champions in the UFC, Johnson now plans to take an extended break from fighting and likely won’t step back inside the Octagon until early 2015.

As for the co-main event, it could have easily passed as the main. In fact, I heard some fans at the MGM Grand Garden Arena didn’t even stick around for it. The UFC pitted MMA veteran Dustin Poirier and featherweight prospect Conor McGregor, who has remarkable visions before each fight. McGregor envisioned a first round TKO, and that’s exactly what Poirier experienced. However, his win comes with controversy because some believe McGregor knocked him down by striking Poirier in the back of the head. Regardless, McGregor stole the show on fight night and earned himself an additional 50k bonus with Performance of the Night. There’s no official word yet, but the Irishman will most likely get the winner of Aldo vs. Mendes, which means title shot.

The entire results and bonuses for UFC 178: Johnson vs. Cariaso is noted right below.

UFC 178 Main card

Demetrious Johnson def. Chris Cariaso via submission (kimura)
Donald Cerrone def. Eddie Alvarez via unanimous decision
Conor McGregor def. Dustin Poirier via first-round TKO
Yoel Romero def Tim Kennedy via third-round TKO
Cat Zingano def. Amanda Nunes via third-round TKO


Dominick Cruz def. Takeya Mizugaki via first-round TKO
Jorge Masvidal def. James Krause via unanimous decision
Stephen Thompson def. Patrick Cote via unanimous decision
Brian Ebersole def. John Howard via split decision
Kevin Lee def. Jon Tuck via unanimous decision
Manvel Gamburyan def. Cody Gibson via submission (guillotine)

UFC 178 Bonus Awards

Fight of the Night: Yoel Romero vs. Tim Kennedy
Performance of the Night: Conor McGregor and Dominick Cruz

More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment