Crucified Barbara: Live At Graspop (2013) – Yell! Magazine’s Full Concert Series

Sometimes all you need is straight-forward hard rock to satisfy the soul. Even better if that hard rock is laced with punk and tinges of classic heavy metal rather than being blues based. And that’s exactly what these four ladies from Sweden deliver.

It’s a sad reality today that being an outspoken dick on your keyboard is becoming increasingly accepted, but it’s still pretty sad to lash out at Crucified Barbara for doing what they’re doing — and they do it really, really well. It’s equally sad for women/girls on the Internet to attack men/boys for getting excited about this band; this is particularly unfair to actual music fans who can see that this band is solid as hell. Oh, and how many freakin’ girls get to drool over a man on stage? Bit of a double standard, don’t you think?

Yes, Crucified Barbara might/does have similarities to certain bands who’ve come before them, and as I said when I wrote about them to introduce the interview we had with Mia Coldheart (vocals/guitar) and Ida Evileye (bass), that’s really to damn easy to do. Who gives a shit if there are similarities to The Donnas or The Runaways? Crucified Barbara certainly doesn’t. And true metal fans will also recognize elements of Motorhead, Motley Crue, W.A.S.P., New York Dolls, G ‘N’ R, and more.

None of that changes the fact that they can play, and they play hard.

It’s truly unbelievable that Crucified have been together since 1998, releasing their first full-length in 2005, and are still flying way below the radar. No doubt their appearance at big festivals (like the 2013 Graspop performance in the player above) has got to be helping with their popularity, and that trend is continuing in 2014 with an August 15th gig at Summer Breeze in Germany and an August 16th gig at the Made of Metal Festival in Czech Republic.

As you’ll see and hear in the full concert above, Crucified Barbara are just awesome. Their sound is great (even if the video’s quality isn’t the best), their playing is tight, and their songs are just fun.

Crucified Barbara Is:

Mia Coldheart (Mia Karlsson) – Vocals, Guitar
Klara Force (Klara Rönnqvist Fors) – Guitar, Backing vocals
Ida Evileye (Ida Stenbacka) – Bass guitar, Backing vocals
Nicki Wicked (Jannicke Lindström) – Drums, Backing vocals

Crucified Barbara Graspop Metal Meeting 2013 Set List:

1. Intro
2. The Crucified
3. Play Me Hard
4. Shut Your Mouth
5. Rock Me Like The Devil
6. Motorfucker
7. In Distortion We Trust
8. Into the Fire
9. Everything We Need
10. Sex Action

Yell! Magazine’s Concert Series brings you kick-ass live shows to get your party started right and to help you vent your Friday frustrations.

Rock Hard \m/

More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment