Psycroptic Debuts First Song From The Inherited Repression

“Carriers of the Plague” is one bad-ass track that all metal fans have to check out. It seems that the Australian Psycroptic have mastered the art of making technical death metal sound like something palatable; if you’re not careful, you might actually think that you’re listening to some thrash. But then some cool percussion element or guitar phrasing will catch your ear and remind you that, yeah, this is technical — and it’s better than grandma’s Christmas baking.

Musically, “Carriers of the Plague” is sonic, sounding at times like Black Sabbath and at others a bit like Slayer, but never does it try to be them. It’s a powerful song that’ll blow your head off. The only real criticism is on the vocals, which, at times, sound too much like metalcore.

Check out the details on the song, band, and upcoming album in the press release below, and don’t for get to stream “Carriers of the Plague” on Facebook.

“Carriers of the Plague” Press Release

psycroptic_coverAUSTRALIA – Aussie technical death metal outfit, Psycroptic, has posted the first song from the band’s upcoming fifth studio album, The Inherited Repression, for streaming on Facebook. Head over to the official Psycroptic Facebook page to hear the brand new track, “Carriers of the Plague.”

The Inherited Repression will be released February 7th in North America and February 10th in Europe on Nuclear Blast Records.

Commented Psycroptic guitarist, Joe Haley:

The Inherited Repression is far and away my favorite Psycroptic album thus far – all of us in the band think this. It’s the age-old cliché from bands when they talk about their current album as being the best of their career, blah, blah, but I have to say it because it’s true. We wouldn’t think there is a point of going on if we couldn’t outdo each album prior. We are certainly not playing music for anything else than the love of creating it and performing it.

The Inherited Repression is quite different from anything we have done in terms of song writing and structure, and we spent a lot longer writing and demoing the songs before we recorded it, which you can tell. It’s a very dynamic album – the fast elements faster, the slow elements slower, and a lot of light and dark binding it together. It’s a very catchy album as well – you can tap your foot, bang your head or anything else you want. Basically it has a lot of groove on it from start to finish.”

The Inherited Repression was produced, engineered, and mixed by Haley, while Alan Douches handled mastering duties.

The Inherited Repression track list:

1. Carriers of the Plague
2. Forward to Submission
3. Euphorinasia
4. The Throne of Kings
5. Unmasking the Traitors
6. Become the Cult
7. From Scribe to Ashes
8. Deprivation
9. The Sleepers Have Awoken

Psycroptic is:

Jason Peppiatt – Vocals
Cameron Grant – Bass
Joe Haley – Guitars
Dave Haley – Drums


Credit: Nuclear Blast

More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment