Apophys Unleash Unrelenting Death Metal With “Requiem For The Absurd”

apophys - prime incursion - album cover

apophys - prime incursion - album cover

Dutch death metal practitioners, Apophys (ah/po/fihs) — who feature within their bestial ranks members of God Dethroned, Prostitute Disfigurement, Detonation, and Toxocara, among others — are readying to release their debut full-length, Prime Incursion, on April 7, 2015, via Metal Blade Records.

Head on over to metalblade.com to have your mind blown by the intensely brutal and violent third track to be released, “Requiem for the Absurd.” It’s non-stop in its pummeling aggression! You can also pre-order the album at the same location.

A word derived from “Apophis,” an asteroid that, upon initial observations, indicated a probability that it would hit Earth on April 13, 2029, causing a collision of immeasurable proportions, Apophys was forged in 2012, and have since been surgically carving their path within the annals of the modern death metal scene. Prioritizing song structure above technicality, Apophys manifests an audio assault that’s at once vicious, guttural, and meticulously arranged, yet wholly organic and infectiously memorable, recalling the repugnant charm of death metal legends like Cannibal Corpse, Suffocation, Immolation, and Pyrexia.

Mixed by vocalist Kevin Quilligan and mastered by Stefano Morabito at 16th Cellar Studio (Fleshgod Apocalypse, House Of Penance, etc.), the band’s forthcoming Prime Incursion long player boasts nine sadistic hymns of sci-fi-tinged death metal centered on themes ranging from transcendental travel, rapid evolutionary progression, and global epidemics to artificial intelligence in all-out war with their maker.

Comments Quilligan:

The thought of our planet floating through a galactic minefield makes me think about how frail our existence really is. And where some might consider this to be a negative and demotivating thought, I used this realization to create something truly apocalyptic — a full, self-sufficient death metal machine in which I as a person am frail, but as part of this more powerful than ever. This is Apophys. We are coming.

Prime Incursion Track Listing:

1. Dimensional Odyssey
2. Miscreants
3. Requiem For The Absurd
4. The Antidote
5. Ego
6. The Sentient
7. The Final Step
8. Humanity’s Epilogue
9. The Red Planet

Rock Hard \m/

More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment