Versus The World Will Return In 2015 With A New Album

versus the world - HOMESICK/ROADSICK

Santa Barbara rock band, Versus The World, will make their long-awaited return in 2015, with their third full-length record, Homesick/Roadsick, which is due out on April 7th, via Kung Fu Records. In anticipation for the release, the band has teamed up with to premiere the new track “The Santa Margarita,” which features guest vocals by Dave Hause. Head on over to now to hear the traditional punk jam.

Featuring members of Lagwagon and The Ataris, Versus The World has spent the last decade of their lives performing shows and recording, and have often found themselves in a thrilling paradox of wishing for a familiar bed on tour only to yearn to get back on the road after coming home. Hence the title of their latest record, Homesick/Roadsick.

Following years of touring in support of their 2012 record, Drink.Sing.Live.Love., the band took some time out to recharge and return to the studio with renewed drive and focus to record the new album. Working with producer Thom Flowers (The Ataris, Lagwagon) and mixer Ian MacGregor (All American Rejects), Versus The World have partnered with independent label Kung Fu Records.

Homesick/Roadsick’s newly released song, “The Santa Margarita,” sets the tone of the record with a heavy dose of anthemic pop-punk and driving post-hardcore. The track pays tribute to fallen friend Tony Sly (No Use For A Name) and features guest vocals from popular singer-songwriter Dave Hause (The Loved Ones).

Vocalist/guitarist Donald Spence comments on the track:

I wrote the lyrics to ‘The Santa Margarita’ after I’d gotten the news that our friend Tony Sly had died. He’d taken us on a few tours early in our band’s life and I really didn’t know how to process the information. I’ve known people that have died… but this really hurt my heart in a different way. I think that’s because in addition to being a good friend I still really look up to him in many ways. I asked my friend Dave Hause to come in and sing on the chorus with me and we had a blast. He’s such fun person to have around. He ended up hanging in the studio with us for a while and singing on a few tracks. We’re really proud of these songs. I think it’s the strongest record we’ve made so far; a truly collective effort. I can’t wait to play these songs live.

After some time off from touring, Versus The World is ready to return to stage to perform their latest record. The band will announce dates shortly but in the meantime Spence will be performing a handful of solo acoustic shows in February.

Homesick/Roadsick Track List:

1. The Santa Margarita
2. The Black Ocean
3. A Storm Like Me
4. Seven. Thirty-One
5. A Brooklyn Rooftop
6. A Sight for Sore Eyes
7. Homesick/Roacksick
8. Bullet Train
9. Detox/Retox
10. Self Preservation is Killing Us All
11. Our Song

Versus The World Tour Dates:

Feb 3 – San Diego, CA – Tower Bar (Donald Spence Solo Acoustic Show)
Feb 4 – Los Angeles, CA – The Redwood (Donald Spence Solo Acoustic Show)
Feb 5 – Hermosa Beach, CA – Saint Rocke (Donald Spence Solo Acoustic Show)
Feb 6 – Santa Barbara, CA – Velvet Jones (Donald Spence Solo Acoustic Show)
Feb 7 – Fresno, CA – Strummers (Donald Spence Solo Acoustic Show)
Feb 8 – Las Vegas, NV – Artistic Armory (Donald Spence Solo Acoustic Show)

Rock Hard \m/

More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment