Ulver Stream “Shri Schneider,” Vie For Carpenter/Argento Soundtrack

ulver band

Ulver Messe I.X - VI.X

If Norwegian outfit Ulver is anything, it’s not predictable. In their nearly 20-year career they’ve played everything from Black Metal to Folk Metal to Electronic to Ambient to Avant-Garde. I’d say that the upcoming October 8th release of Messe I.X – VI.X falls somewhere on the Electronic, Ambient, and Avant-Garde scale.

What it most sounds like to me, judging by the two tracks that have been released so far, “Shri Schneider” and “Glamour Box,” Ulver sounds like they’re vying for a spot on the soundtrack of any upcoming works from John Carpenter or Dario Argento. Yes, it’s that atmospheric and dark and creepy at times. Actually, if you can bear some strange looks, you’d do well to put these tracks on rotation at you’re upcoming Halloween party — you are having a Halloween party, right?

You’ll have to follow this link to a crappy website to hear hear “Shri Schneider,” but “Glamour Box” is available just below:

It’s actually been quite a year for Norway and its musical exports. Earlier this year we had the phenomenal Kvelertak, which is supposedly another Norwegian Black Metal outfit, and now Ulver is coming at us with their 10th studio release, Messe I.X – VI.X.

The follow up to 2011’s acclaimed Wars of the Roses, Messe I.X – VI.X is a different entity; reverberating 2007’s somber and solemn Shadows of the Sun, with the band even going as far as to say it feels like a companion piece to it. The album also echoes the early electronic experiments of EPs Silence Teaches You How to Sing and Silencing the Singing, and is furthermore said to invoke the ghost of an abandoned Nattens madrigal renaissance-project.

ulver band

Six compositions altogether written, produced, recorded and mixed by Ulver, this time consisting of Ole Alexander Halstensgård, Kristoffer Rygg, Jørn H. Sværen, and Tore Ylwizaker, with additional aid and advice from composer Martin Romberg, who also arranged the music for the 21 members of Tromsø Chamber Orchestra. The album also features the extraordinary talents of contemporary composers/musicians Ole-Henrik Moe and Kari Rønnekleiv.

Ulver Messe I.X – VI.X track list:

1. “As Syrians Pour In, Lebanon Grapples With Ghosts of a Bloody Past”
2. “Shri Schneider”
3. “Glamour Box (ostinati)”
4. “Son Of Man”
5. “Noche Oscura Del Alma”
6. “Mother Of Mercy”

Stay tuned to Yell! Magazine for more Ulver news.

Rock Hard \m/

Have Your Say Leave A Comment