Church Of Misery – “Brother Biship” Video & Album Details Revealed

If you haven’t heard Church of Misery, listen to them now. If my metal senses aren’t mistaken, this Japanese outfit sounds a bit like Black Sabbath (there’s a definite resurgence of this type of doom metal going on in 2013), a bit like Helmet, and a lot like Clutch. It all comes together in a near-flawless, heavy, gritty, wash-me-because-I-feel-dirty effort, but I do find Junji Narita to have a bit of a soft touch on the skins.

Church of Misery will release their fourth full-length album, Thy Kingdom Scum, in North America via Metal Blade Records/Rise Above Records on June 11th. The first single from the album, as well as the brand new video for “Brother Bishop,” can be seen above.

Church Of Misery

Thy Kingdom Scum was written and recorded by Tatus Mikami, Junji Narita, Ikume Kawabe, and Hideki Fukasawa. In 2012, after the departure vocalist Yoshiaki Negishi, Tatsu and Junji contacted the previous singer Hideki, and they decided on a reunion. Additionally, the band added guitarist Ikuma Kawabe (ex-DHIDALAH) in late May 2012. With this new line-up, they started writing and recording the new record.

Plans are currently in motion for more touring in support of Thy Kingdom Scum. Check back with us as we keep you updated.

Rock Hard \m/

More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment