The Fighters Only World MMA Awards 2012 – Full List Of Winners [VIDEO]

The annual World MMA Awards presented by Fighters Only magazine took place last night at “The Joint” in Las Vegas’ Hard Rock Hotel & Casino.

This is the fifth year fighters, including all the fine folks within the MMA industry, have had a chance to step onto the red carpet to show off their appeal to get awarded for a specific category ranging from Fight of the Year to Gym of the Year.

The top names among the nominees for 2012 were Ronda Rousey, Frank Mir, and Jon Jones, with Mir picking up the most wins last night. The event was co-hosted by Chael Sonnen and Molly Qerim once again, a partnership that continues to prove a winning formula at the awards considering Sonnen is a grandmaster at keeping a crowd entertained for a few hours.

World MMA Awards - Chael Sonnen

Right below we have the complete 2012 list of finalists and winners. Check ’em out!

Charles “Mask” Lewis Fighter of the Year

Daniel Cormier
Nate Diaz
Benson Henderson
Jon Jones (winner)
Ronda Rousey

Female Fighter of the Year

Jessica Aguilar
Sarah Kaufman
Sara McMann
Ronda Rousey (winner)
Miesha Tate

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Renan Barao
Michael Chandler
Luke Rockhold
Ronda Rousey
Chris Weidman (winner)

International Fighter of the Year

Michael Bisping (winner)
Alexander Gustafsson
Chan Sung Jung
Martin Kampmann
Stefan Struve

Fight of the Year

Dan Henderson vs. Mauricio “Shogun” Rua (UFC 139)
Michael Chandler vs. Eddie Alvarez (Bellator 58)
Jake Ellenberger vs. Diego Sanchez (UFC on FUEL TV 1)
Dustin Poirier vs. Chan Sung Jung (UFC on FUEL TV 3)
Jamie Varner vs. Joe Lauzon (UFC on FOX 4) (winner)

Knockout of the Year

Adam Khaliev vs. Alexei Belyaev (League S-70)
Edson Barboza vs. Terry Etim (UFC 142) (winner)
Stephen Thompson vs. Dan Stittgen (UFC 143)
Anthony Pettis vs. Joe Lauzon (UFC 144)
Brian Rogers vs. Vitor Vianna (Bellator 61)

Submission of the Year

Frank Mir vs. Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira (UFC 140) (winner)
Charles Oliveira vs. Eric Wisely (UFC on FOX 2)
Rousimar Palhares vs. Mike Massenzio (UFC 142)
Ronda Rousey vs. Miesha Tate (Strikeforce: Tate vs. Rousey)
Chan Sung Jung vs. Dustin Poirier (UFC on FUEL TV 3)

Comeback of the Year

Alan Belcher (career)
Mike Swick (career)
Frank Mir vs. Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira (UFC 140) (winner)
Tim Boetsch vs. Yushin Okami (UFC 144)
J.P. Joubert vs. Norman Wessels (EFC Africa 15)

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year

Rafael Cordeiro (winner)
Cesar Gracie
Greg Jackson
Javier Mendez
Andre Pederneiras

Gym of the Year

American Kickboxing Academy
Cesar Gracie Jiu-Jitsu (winner)
Jackson-Winkeljohn MMA
Kings MMA
Nova Uniao

Referee of the Year

Herb Dean (winner)
Marc Goddard
John McCarthy
Josh Rosenthal
Mario Yamasaki

Ring Card Girl of the Year

Jade Bryce
Arianny Celeste
Kelli Hutcherson
Brittney Palmer (winner)
Mercedes Terrell

Leading Man of the Year

Victor Cui
Lorenzo Fertitta
Shannon Knapp
Bjorn Rebney
Dana White (winner)

Personality of the Year

Jon Anik
Bruce Buffer
Mauro Ranallo
Joe Rogan (winner)
Bas Rutten

Best Promotion

Invicta FC
UFC (winner)

Best Lifestyle Clothing Brand
Bad Boy (winner)

Best Technical Clothing Brand

Bad Boy
Clinch Gear (winner)

Best Technical Equipment

Pretorian (winner)

MMA Media Source of the Year
“Inside MMA” on AXS TV (winner)

MMA Journalist of the Year

Ariel Helwani, TV (winner)
Karyn Bryant, MMA HEAT/FUEL TV
Gareth A. Davies, The Telegraph
Ben Fowlkes, TODAY
John Morgan, TODAY


More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment