My Dying Bride: A Map Of All Our Failures – Special-Edition Doc

My Dying Bride have just released their 11th studio effort, and included in the special-edition package is a documentary of the band as they discuss the band – past, present, and future. Somehow, the members are much more soothing and less morbid when they speak. Check out the promotional trailer above and the press release below.

Rock Hard \m/

Trailer for the documentary featured on the special edition of My Dying Bride‘s newly released album A Map of All Our Failures, which also contains a CD & DVD mediabook with a 20-page booklet. Joining the album songs is the exclusive bonus track “My Faults Are Your Reward,” plus a special DVD featuring a full-length documentary on the band, as each member defines what it is like to be part of such an established act as My Dying Bride, from their early beginnings and ambitions to recollections of life and experiences on the road for the titans of metal.

My Dying Bride has been the leading force in the death/doom metal genre since their inception in the early 1990s and have gone on to forge a legacy of greatness in the field over the past two decades, since 1992’s debut release, As The Flower Withers.

2009’s For Lies I Sire set and subsequently met new heights of expectation placed upon the legendary Yorkshire doom troupe, but A Map of All Our Failures is a considerable step up for the band and further voyage into the darkest depths of humanity, religion, folklore, love, and death.

My Dying Bride’s distinctively sumptuous dual guitar melodies effortlessly flood into juggernaut doom metal riffs, with the vocals of Aaron Stainthorpe weaving a rich tapestry of tragic tales into the accompanying soundscapes. A Map of All Our Failures is perhaps best and most effectively summarized by guitarist Andrew Craighan, who describes the album as “a controlled demolition of all your hopes.”

The album recording and mix was completed at Futureworks Studios in Manchester, UK, with long-standing production maestro Mags at the helm. Artwork appears courtesy of Rhett Podersoo at Machine Room.

My Dying Bride – A Map of All Our Failures tracklist:

1. Kneel till Doomsday
2. The Poorest Waltz
3. A Tapestry Scorned
4. Like A Perpetual Funeral
5. A Map of all our Failures
6. Hail Odysseus
7. Within The Presence of Absence
8. Abandoned As Christ


More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment