Van Halen: New Track, New Video, New Tour

It’s pretty hard for Van Halen to fail, unless it involves Gary Cherone. And the first single off of the upcoming A Different Kind of Truth, “Tattoo,” is far from failure. While it seems to miss the raw energy of pre-Sammy Van Halen, it is solid and tight. Seriously, when you put those talents together, is it going to be anything but? Besides, Van Halen has to be commended for sticking to their sound, avoiding trying to sound young and relevant. And they are still light years ahead of younger up-and-coming musicians in the talent department. Van Halen just knows what they’re doing, and it shows.

Check it out for yourself: Eddie’s solo is as tight as ever, Alex is as solid as ever, Roth is as showman-y as ever, and, well, Wolfie is proving himself totally capable.

A lot of people might be asking “Why?” “Why a new Van Halen?” “Why a reformed Van Halen with David Lee Roth?”

Despite all the drama, despite the endless Hagar vs. Roth debates, despite the absence of Michael Anthony, despite a $93 million tour in 2007, despite Gary Cherone, despite most fans having written the band off, Van Halen owed this reunion and new album with Roth to the fans. In fact, it’s the first dignified thing the brothers have done, at least publicly, in years. Most fans had grown tired of the bickering, tired of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame absenteeism, and for the first time in years, it looks like Van Halen is having fun, which will undoubtedly translate into an awesome live show.

Whether fans favor Roth or Hagar, we’ve always wanted this – a new album with Roth, and A Different Kind of Truth is gonna get heavy rotation. Fans have been patient and tolerant, and as a fan myself, I’d like to say Thank You, Van Halen.

Van Halen 2012 Tour Schedule

Sat 02/18/12 Louisville, KY KFC Yum! Center
Mon 02/20/12 Auburn Hills, MI The Palace Of Auburn Hills
Wed 02/22/12 Indianapolis, IN Bankers Life Fieldhouse
Fri 02/24/12 Chicago, IL United Center
Tue 02/28/12 New York, NY Madison Square Garden Arena
Thu 03/01/12 New York, NY Madison Square Garden Arena
Sat 03/03/12 Uncasville, CT Mohegan Sun Arena
Mon 03/05/12 Philadelphia, PA Wells Fargo Center
Fri 03/09/12 Buffalo, NY First Niagara Center
Sun 03/11/12 Boston, MA TD Garden
Thu 03/15/12 Montreal, QC Bell Centre
Sat 03/17/12 Toronto, ON Air Canada Centre
Wed 03/21/12 Ottawa, ON Scotiabank Place
Sat 03/24/12 Atlantic City, NJ Atlantic City Boardwalk Hall
Wed 03/28/12 Washington, DC Verizon Center
Fri 03/30/12 Pittsburgh, PA Consol Energy Center
Sun 04/01/12 Rosemont, IL Allstate Arena
Tue 04/10/12 Sunrise, FL BankAtlantic Center
Thu 04/12/12 Tampa, FL Tampa Bay Times Forum
Sat 04/14/12 Orlando, FL Amway Center
Mon 04/16/12 Jacksonville, FL Jacksonville Veterans Mem. Arena
Thu 04/19/12 Atlanta, GA Philips Arena
Sat 04/21/12 Greensboro, NC Greensboro Coliseum Complex
Wed 04/25/12 Charlotte, NC Time Warner Cable Arena
Fri 04/27/12 Nashville, TN Bridgestone Arena
Tue 05/01/12 Tulsa, OK BOK Center
Sat 05/05/12 Tacoma, WA Tacoma Dome
Mon 05/07/12 Vancouver, BC Rogers Arena
Wed 05/09/12 Calgary, AB Scotiabank Saddledome
Fri 05/11/12 Edmonton, AB Rexall Place
Thu 05/17/12 Winnipeg, MB MTS Centre
Sat 05/19/12 Saint Paul, MN Xcel Energy Center
Tue 05/22/12 Kansas City, MO Sprint Center
Thu 05/24/12 Denver, CO Pepsi Center
Sun 05/27/12 Las Vegas, NV MGM Grand Garden Arena
Fri 06/01/12 Los Angeles, CA Staples Center
Sun 06/03/12 Oakland, CA Oracle Arena
Tue 06/05/12 San Jose, CA HP Pavilion At San Jose
Tue 06/12/12 Anaheim, CA Honda Center
Thu 06/14/12 San Diego, CA Viejas Arena
Sat 06/16/12 Phoenix, AZ US Airways Center
Wed 06/20/12 Dallas, TX American Airlines Center
Fri 06/22/12 San Antonio, TX AT&T Center
Sun 06/24/12 Houston, TX Toyota Center
Tue 06/26/12 New Orleans, LA New Orleans Arena

Rock Hard!

More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment

  • Anonymous

    I guess I had higher hopes… fuck!

    • Tell us what about the song disappoints you. We’d like to know.