Champion vs. Champion: Epic Lightweight Battle To Come Between Henderson And Melendez

UFC Benson Henderson championUFC lightweight champion Benson Henderson will defend his title in a long-awaited showdown with Gilbert Melendez, the last man to hold the STRIKEFORCE lightweight title, on Saturday, April 20 when the Ultimate Fighting Championship brings the Octagon back to HP Pavilion in San Jose, Calif.

The 29-year-old Henderson is 6-0 in the UFC, including two consecutive title defenses over Nate Diaz and Frankie Edgar. He’ll look to cement his status as the world’s best 155-pounder when he meets Melendez, a San Francisco resident riding a seven-fight winning streak.

“Benson Henderson wants to beat Gilbert Melendez to prove once and for all that he’s the best lightweight in the world,” UFC President Dana White said. “Gilbert was a champion in Strikeforce and he’s been on an incredible tear. Benson wants this fight badly and I’m excited that it’s headlining such a stacked card.”

Gilbert Melendez

In addition, this outstanding card also features:

Former UFC heavyweight champion Frank Mir vs. highly touted Olympic wrestler and winner of the STRIKEFORCE Heavyweight Grand Prix, San Jose’s Daniel Cormier.

Stockton’s Nate Diaz vs. San Jose’s Josh Thomson in lightweight action

A welterweight collision between Dan Hardy and Matt Brown

The main card airs live on FOX at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, preceded by the prelims on FX at 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT. FUEL TV previews the card the week before on signature shows UFC TONIGHT and UFC ULTIMATE INSIDER, and also carries the WEIGH-IN SHOW on Friday, April 19 at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT and provides post-event analysis.

More Articles Like This

Have Your Say Leave A Comment